From 2017: Bank Notes Without Political Personalities

A new family of banknotes will be in circulation in 2017. A novelty: the political figures of the country will no longer appear.

Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam, Sir Gaëtan Duval, Sookdeo Bissoondoyal, Sir Abdool Mohamed Razack, Sir Renganaden Seeneevassen, Sir Maurice Paturau and Sir John Stephen Moi Lin Ah Chuen will be among effigies of these politicians that will not appear on the new banknotes by the Bank of Mauritius that plans to put into circulation the notes as from the second half of 2017. They will spotlight the cultural and historical heritage of Mauritius. A committee has been formed in this regard.

That makes 17 years that the design and size of banknotes in Mauritius remained unchanged. Hence the decision of the Central Bank to make some changes. “Bien que la Banque de Maurice ait introduit de nouvelles fonctionnalités de sécurité et amélioré la qualité des billets de banque, le design est resté le même depuis 1999. Les billets de banque montrent de face le portrait d’une personnalité politique et de dos un paysage ou un monument. Il est grand temps de venir de l’avant avec une nouvelle famille de billets de banque surtout dans ce monde où les innovations technologiques facilitent la contrefaçon,” says one representative of the Bank of Mauritius.

Following consultations that the Governor of the Bank of Mauritius, Ramesh Basant Roi, had with Prime Minister Sir Anerood Jugnauth, and the Finance Minister Jugnauth, it has been decided to replace the portraits of personalities by illustrative elements which may include national heritage, historical, cultural development as well as distinctive landscapes or endemic species of flora or fauna of Mauritius.

In this context, the Bank of Mauritius has established a Banknote Design Committee whose task is to propose topics for the new family ticket. The committee, chaired by Marjorie Heerah-Pampusa (assistant director of the Financial Markets Division of the BoM), will consist of Yves Chan Kam Lon (former director of the National Library), Yacoob Ghanty (consultant in industrial and public relations relationships ), Yvan Martial (freelance journalist and director Yvan Martial Publications Ltd), Vijaya Teelock (responsible for courses at the University Mauritius) and Grooduth Daboo (head of Banking & Currency Division BoM).

Since 1967, the Bank of Mauritius issued four banknote families. The fourth banknote family has been issued since 1 July 1999 under seven denominations: Rs 25, Rs 50, Rs 100, Rs 200, Rs 500, Rs 1000 (issued as of 24 August 1999) and Rs 2000 . The polymer notes were issued in three denominations (Rs 25, Rs 50 and Rs 500) in August 2013.

The meeting of the Monetary Policy Committee not yet fixed
The Bank of Mauritius (B0M) has not still set a new date for the meeting of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC), which was originally scheduled this Wednesday, June 22. In a statement released Friday, the BoM says it has postponed the meeting because of the upcoming presentation of the 2016-2017 budget and that it will announce the new date later.